YAMIN HASHEM

You kept me humble on top and raised me up from a bottomless sorrow
You and your wife gave me food when I couldn’t find a reason to swallow
In college you were my only positive role model to follow
And taught me that by praying my heart out I could bring mashiach tomorrow
I was so involved in this gashmius it felt like my insides were hollow
You discovered G-dliness inside me though the way I operated was awful
Showed me there was more to this existence than sex, drugs, and rock and roll
Ignited the light to a life of yiddishkeit, and I prospered cause you fostered my growth
I watched you draw down blessings from heaven during kiddush over moscato
I began keeping Shabbos, no cell phone or wallet; I shocked my dad and mom back home in Chicago
My façade got shot with vodka farbrenging, I released all the problems I bottled
Thank G-d I found Chabad before my life rotted to compost
Almost total opposites but we got common souls both borrowed
Throw off the bondage of mitzraim and overcome all obstacles
So no more taco bell tacos for me, only kosher cheese on my nachos
I wanna be a Chasid like you movin forward with G-d’s right hand on the throttle

Never did I think for a second about how my actions impacted heaven
My collection, of regrets had become so immense I didn’t have the will to keep suppressin’
But you let me open up, pieces of the past I tried to close shut that were limiting my present
Not once did you ever judge my confessions, you just said the difficulties I endured were blessings
With a little bit of introspection, I tried to find the meaning behind what was being tested
Yet it’s G-d alone who knows the whole message, though we attempt to comprehend whats presented
Always wisely you advised me and guided me towards the right direction
And if I was divided in two sections, you helped me pick the better sentiment to invest in
You whet my neshamas appetite with your inifinite supply of inspiring lessons
From the Torah our timeless protection, from the times of exile to redemption
Your personal pride pushed to the side in order to fortify a Jewish student’s connection
To Hashem and despite tension from outside, you gave my dalet amos new dimension
All I saw were imperfections but you switched up my perception
Again I remembered how to appreciate my reflection,
The impression you’ve left was tremendous, to you I’m forever indebted
Now I’m destined for success, G-d’s right hand freed me from depression…

© 2012 HARDCHARLiE


About this entry